Playa del carmen

Comments 0 Playa del Carmen
4 March 2014
Playa del carmen

Playa del Carmen is located in the state of Quintana Roo, on the edge of the Caribbean Sea. It is a city that you will certainly have to visit if you’re traveling in Mexico.

Until the 80s, “Playa” as it is now called, was a small fishing village of about 1500 inhabitants. Gradually it turned into real city with the arrival of tourism in this part of Mexico. “The center in” has developed very rapidly, and today there are about 200,000 inhabitants. It is far from the small fishing village that it once was. … The boom of the Riviera Maya first began with the creation of the Cancun hotel zone that was created in the 70s to decongest the resorts of Acapulco on the Pacific coast.


Playa del Carmen is a new city, which is constantly expanding and growing, it even holds the world record!! 3 million tourists come each year and the numbers are increasing! The Mayan Riviera wants to be part of the top 5 visited destinations in the world.


Playa del Carmen is not a traditional Mexican town. The population is very young, and every month new arrivals from across the country come to live and visitors from around the world come seeking sun, wellness and especially labor. The ongoing construction of hotels gives work to lots of people. This is the opportunity for many to try their luck and participate in the development of a city for young people from all backgrounds.


The main attraction of Playa del Carmen is its beach of course, and its famous “5th avenue” or “Quinta Avenida”, pedestrianized streets of several kilometers with a long line of bars, shops and restaurants.

You can go without fear, at all hours, there is no danger in the city.

One of the cons of Playa is that there are no old churches or traditional markets, you need to go to the Yucatan, Valladolid (2 hours drive) to see the Mexico that you may imagine.

You’ll understand Playa is a cosmopolitan city that is young, which has its history still before her. Let’s be optimistic and hope that the development is not too chaotic, and remains in compliance with the environment and nature, and that the politicians do not make mistakes like the ones on the Pacific Coast in Acapulco.


Playa del Carmen is a very good starting point for most trips departing to the south (50 minutes to Tulum, Coba 1hour and 30 minutes, 2 hours and 45 minutes to Chichen Itza, and Valladolid 2 hours), and always with Paseo Tours obviously!!


pd

The famous 5th Avenue a few years earlier..

playa1989[1]


playa1992[1]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Playa del carmen

Comments 0 Playa del Carmen
4 mars 2014
Playa del carmen

Playa del Carmen est située dans l’état du Quintana Roo, au bord de la mer des Caraïbes. C’est une ville où vous passerez certainement si vous venez en voyage au Mexique.

Historique

Jusque dans les années 80, « Playa » comme on l’appelle maintenant, était un petit village de pêcheurs d’environ 1500 habitants. Petit à petit elle s’est transformée en véritable ville avec l’arrivée du tourisme dans cette partie du Mexique. Le projet de la « Riviera Maya » dont Playa est le centre s’est développé très rapidement, et l’on compte aujourd’hui environ 200.000 habitants, nous sommes loin du petit village de pêcheurs… Tout ce projet a d’abord commencé avec la création de la zone hôtelière de Cancún qui a été créée dans les années 70 pour désengorger la station balnéaire d’Acapulco sur la côte pacifique.

Expansion constante de Playa del Carmen

Playa del Carmen est une ville nouvelle, dont l’expansion est constante, elle en détient même le record du monde!! 3 millions de vacanciers y viennent chaque année, et les chiffres ne cessent d’augmenter! La Riviera maya souhaite faire partie du top 5 des destinations visitées dans le monde.

Playa del Carmen: une ville traditionnelle

Playa del Carmen n’est pas une ville mexicaine traditionnelle. La population y est très jeune, et chaque mois de nouveaux arrivants venant de tout le pays, et du monde entier vient y chercher soleil, bien-être et surtout travail. La construction permanente d’hôtels donne du travail à énormément de monde, c’est ici l’occasion de venir tenter sa chance et participer au développement d’une ville pour des jeunes de tous horizons.

Les attraits de la ville

L’attrait principal de Playa del Carmen reste sa plage bien sûr, et sa fameuse « 5e avenue » ou « quinta avenida », rue piétonne sur plusieurs kilomètres où se succèdent bars, magasins et restaurants.

Vous pourrez y aller sans crainte, à toutes heures, il n’y aucun danger en ville.

Ici par contre, pas de vieilles églises ou de marchés typiques, il vous faudra vous rendre dans le Yucatan, à Valladolid (2h de route) pour voir le Mexique tel que vous vous l’imaginez.

Playa del Carmen : une ville cosmopolite

Vous l’aurez compris, Playa est une ville cosmopolite, jeune, qui a son histoire encore devant elle. Soyons optimistes et espérons que le développement ne soit pas trop chaotique, et reste dans le respect de l’environnement et de la nature que les politiques ne font pas les erreurs faites sur la côte pacifique à Acapulco.

Playa del Carmen reste un très bon point de départ pour la plupart des excursions qui partent vers le sud (Tulum à 50min, Coba à 1h30, Chichén Itzá à 2h45, Valladolid à 2h), toujours avec Paseo Tours évidemment !!


pd

La célèbre 5e avenue quelques années plus tôt

playa1989[1]


playa1992[1]



Laisser un commentaire

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *